About Us

Climate 200 was born out of the realisation that we cannot stand on the sidelines and let climate science denial and vested interests delay meaningful action on climate change.

Climate 200 was established in the lead up to the 2019 federal election by a group of concerned Australians who realised we cannot stand on the sidelines and let climate science denial and vested interests delay meaningful action on climate change.

Our vision is a Federal Parliament where a clear majority of MPs back decisive, science-based climate action, and have the courage and vision to seize the incredible economic opportunity decarbonisation presents to Australia.

Photo by

Why Integrity?

We strongly believe a growing lack of accountability and integrity has damaged our democratic institutions and needs to be urgently addressed.

Without a suite of integrity measures — political donation reform, shutting down the revolving door between politicians and lobbyists, and an effective national anti-corruption commission — our democracy will continue to be undermined by vested interests and voter apathy.

Increasing government accountability, reducing the influence of vested interests and greater elector engagement is the key to unlocking progress in a wide range of areas, not just climate change.

What we do

This election, we see the community independents movement as the most strategic and impactful avenue for achieving progress in these areas.

Around the country, over 30 grassroots community groups have formed with the objective of supporting pro-climate, pro-integrity and pro-gender equality independents.

We are aiming to raise at least $5 million to help level the playing field for 10-12 high quality, values-aligned candidates.
Our support is being provided through the following activities:

1. Strategic communications to support community independents and position them as an effective, credible and desirable solution to breaking the deadlock in Australian politics.

2. Analytics + engagement to identify the best values-aligned campaigns in the most strategic electorates, and support them with the data and research they need to run effective and efficient campaigns.

3. Capacity building + tactical support to ensure community groups and their candidates have the tools, strategies, and expertise needed to win.

4. Direct funding to candidates with the best chances of success or highest strategic impact.

With your help, we can make a meaningful contribution to delivering a federal parliament where a clear majority of elected representatives are ambitious on both climate action and restoring integrity to politics.


Who we are

We draw on the insights and wisdom of a highly experienced team of professionals who contribute deep expertise and complementary skills.
Simon Holmes à Court
Simon is a senior advisor to the Climate and Energy College at Melbourne University. Simon is also a cleantech investor, climate philanthropist and a director of the Smart Energy Council and the Australian Environmental Grant-makers Network.
Byron Fay
Executive Director
Byron is a climate strategist, former Paris Agreement negotiator and adviser to the Independent Senator Tim Storer. Byron worked for a Biden-aligned Political Action Committee during the 2020 US presidential election, holds a Masters of Public Policy from the University of Oxford, and is a proud descendant of the Dharug nation.
Anna Josephson
Advisory Council
Anna is a tech entrepreneur and climate philanthropist. Anna was on the Advisory Committee and in charge of fundraising for independent MP Zali Steggall in the 2019 federal election and is the co-founder of Warringah Independent (campaign entity supporting Zali Steggall).
Anthony Reed
Advisory Council
Anthony is an experienced political strategist and campaign manager. Oversaw Zali Steggall's successful campaign in the 2019 federal election and Kerryn Phelps' victory in the 2018 Wentworth by-election.
Kiera Peacock
Advisory Council
Kiera is a Partner at Marque Lawyers with expertise in electoral and climate law. She ran the Court of Disputed Returns challenge following the 2019 federal election that clarified the law on misleading electoral advertising.
Julia Banks
Advisory Council
Julia is an author, businesswoman and Liberal Member for Chisholm 2016–2018. She was an independent from 2018–2019. Julia has a focus on gender equal representation and workplace culture for women in politics.
Rob Oakeshott
Advisory Council
Rob was the Independent MP for Lyne in the Australian Parliament from 2008-2013. Prior to this, he was NSW State MP for Port Macquarie from 1995-2008. He published a book on his experience: The Independent Member for Lyne. Rob now teaches environmental and business law and is studying medicine.
Tony Windsor
Advisory Council
Tony was the independent member for the federal seat of New England from 2001 to 2013. Prior to that, he was the independent member for the seat of Tamworth in the NSW Legislative Assembly. Tony is a farmer and an economist.
Kerryn Phelps
Advisory Council
Doctor; author; commentator; OzSAGE member; Independent MP for Wentworth 2018-2019; Deputy Lord Mayor of Sydney 2016-2017; AMA President 2000-2003;